TorinoFilmLab - Training, development, Funding

8th TFL Meeting Event Awards & Winners

8th TFL Meeting Event Awards & Winners

November 27, 2015

Thursday, 26th November – The 2015 edition of TorinoFilmLab was officially closed with the 8th TorinoFilmLab Meeting Event, where development, production and distribution awards were assigned for a total of € 435.000.

The international Jury, chaired by Alberto Barbera, and comprised of Paula Astorga, Benjamin Domenech, Atiq Rahimi and Fien Troch, has decided to award 5 TFL World Production Awards (amounting to a total of € 270.000):

THE HEIRESSES by Marcelo Martinessi (Paraguay/Germany/Brazil/Uruguay) – € 50.000
NOTHING ELSE MATTRESS by Bryn Chainey (Australia) – € 50.000
A A by Jack Faber (Poland/Israel) – € 50.000
SUNSET by László Nemes (Hungary) – € 50.000
DAOUD'S WINTER by Koutaiba Al-Janabi (Iraq/Netherlands/France) – € 70.000

The following prizes were also awarded:

Audience Award
Voted among the FrameWork projects by all the Decision Makers attending the TFL Meeting Event, the Audience Award of € 30.000 went to:

A A by Jack Faber (Poland/Israel)

3 TFL World Distribution Awards (€ 43.000) – aimed at supporting innovative audience engagement strategies at the moment of distribution – were officially presented to as many winning projects that have participated in this year’s Audience Design programme connected to the TFL World Distribution Fund:

EVA DOESN'T SLEEP by Pablo Agüero (France/Argentina/Spain)
IN THE LAST DAYS OF THE CITY by Tamer El Said (Egypt/Germany)
REY by Niles Atallah (Chile/France)

The ARTE International Prize
Assigned by ARTE France Cinéma to one of the Script&Pitch projects, the ARTE International Prize of € 6.000 went to:

A CIAMBRA by Jonas Carpignano (Italy)

The Post-Production Award EP2C
The prize assigned to a FrameWork project, which allows the producer to participate in a workshop on post-production, went to:

Ohna Falby from Life to Live Films (United Kingdom), producer of THE GIRL FROM THE ESTUARY

Les Arcs Coproduction Village Prize
The Les Arcs Coproduction Village Prize, consisting in the automatic selection at the Arc 1950 Coproduction Village, went to:

THE STAFFROOM by Sonja Tarokic (Croatia) – Script&Pitch

The Digital Production Challenge II Award
The award, consisting in the participation in the DPC II Workshop, is granted by FOCAL Resource and went to the Script&Pitch project:

SWEET MONSTER by Laurie Lassalle (France)

Production Minds Award
The Production Minds Award, consisting in a 6-month free subscription to the on-line pre-production Platform, went to:

THE GIRL FROM THE ESTUARY by Gaëlle Denis (United Kingdom/France)