TorinoFilmLab - Training, development, Funding

TorinoFilmLab announces the awards assigned at the TFL Meeting Event and unveils the Juries

TFL News & Events

TorinoFilmLab announces the awards assigned at the TFL Meeting Event and unveils the Juries

November 6, 2019

We are pleased to unveil the numerous development, production and distribution grants that will be assigned by TorinoFilmLab and its partners during the TFL Meeting Event 2019.


The FeatureLab projects will compete for the TFL Production and TFL Co-Production Awards, given to enable the making of the films. We are glad to unveil the international Jury in charge of assigning these production grants: Isabelle Glachant, producer and founder of Chinese Shadows (Hong Kong); the festival programmer and General Delegate of Venice International Film Critics’ Week Giona Nazzaro (Italy); production and television expert Julia Oh, Senior Commissioning Executive at Film4 (United Kingdom); the TFL Alumna and winner of the Golden Bear 2018 Adina Pintilie (Romania); as well as the Senior consultant international co-production and former Executive Director of the Israel Film Fund Katriel Schory (Israel).

In addition, the FeatureLab projects will also be eligible for the following collateral prizes, offered by TFL’s partners:

- The Amsterdam Post Lab Award will offer a grant of € 10.000 for post-production services as well as a scholarship to the producer of the winning project to participate in the APostLab workshop.

- The Sub-Ti Award and the Sub-Ti Access Award, offered by Sub-Ti Ltd. and Sub-ti Access Srl., will reward two projects: the first one will win English, Italian or German subtitles, while the second will be offered subtitles for the hearing impaired and audio description for the blind and visually impaired.

- The ArteKino International Prize, of an amount of € 6.000, will be awarded to either a FeatureLab or a ScriptLab project to support its further development.

Apart from the ArteKino International Prize, the ScriptLab projects will also compete for:

- The Hamilton Behind the Camera Award – Talent for the Future, granted by the Swiss watch brand Hamilton, which includes a grant of 5.000 Euro to support the development of the script, as well as a wristwatch inspired by cinema.

- CNC Award, consisting of a writing grant of 8.000 Euro to pursue the development of the script. It will be offered by the Centre National du Cinéma et de l’Image Animée, based on the recommendation of an independent Jury: Eva Diederix, Head of Sales at Wild Bunch (France); the Artistic Director of Locarno Film Festival Lili Hinstin (Switzerland); as well as the co-founder and president of the New York-based boutique film sales Visit Films Ryan Kampe (United States).

Last but not least, one ScriptLab project will also be awarded with the new TFL White Mirror (€ 3.000), created by TorinoFilmLab to support stories that tackle environmental issues, sustainability or any related changes happening in today’s world, through a personal and engaging tone – from new consumption habits to the different ways of life.

The Award Ceremony will take place on Saturday 23rd November at Scuola Holden. On this occasion, the recipients of the TFL Funds 2019 will also officially be awarded: 3 international co-productions will receive the TFL Audience Design Fund, a distribution grant aimed at encouraging innovative audience development strategies for the distribution phase; while 3 others, still in development, will compete for the new TFL World Co-Production Fund – a production grant addressed to experienced filmmakers. The Jury in charge of selected the project to receive the TFL World Co-Production Fund Award is composed of producer and co-founder of Element Pictures Ed Guiney (Ireland); Senior Advisor and Selection Committee Member of the Berlin Film Festival Paz Lázaro (Germany); as well as the award-winning producer Carole Scotta, founder of Haut et Court (France).

More information on the projects and the Juries in the TFL Catalogue here.

The TFL Funds as well as the TFL Co-Production Awards receive support from the Creative Europe – MEDIA sub-programme of the European Union.