TorinoFilmLab - Training, development, Funding

TFL Meeting Event 2016: here are the Awards & winners!

TFL Selections & Awards

TFL Meeting Event 2016: here are the Awards & winners!

November 25, 2016

The 2016 edition of TorinoFilmLab was officially closed with the TFL Meeting Event, where 14 development, production and distribution awards were assigned for a total value of over € 470.000.

A global co-production forum for independent feature films and adaptations, with a focus on emerging directors. A public presentation of the projects developed at TorinoFilmLab throughout the year. A moment to reward the best projects with awards, production & distribution grants. The TorinoFilmLab Meeting Event, taking place on November 23-25 within the Torino Film Festival, brought together more than 300 industry professionals from all over the world.

Within the FrameWork programme, 9 projects in their final stages of development and advancing towards pre-production were presented.

The international Jury, chaired by Alberto Barbera, Venice Film Festival’s Artistic Director and Chairman of the TFL Advisory Board, and comprised of actress and director Monia Chokri (Canada), Doha Film Institute’s Director of Strategy & Development Hanaa Issa (Lebanon/Canada); TFL Alumnus, director and producer Oscar Ruíz Navia (Colombia), and producer Jožko Rutar (Slovenia) has decided to award 3 TFL Production Awards (amounting to a total of € 120.000):

The Guest by Duccio Chiarini (Italy/France/Switzerland) – € 40.000
The Orphanage by Shahrbanoo Sadat (Denmark/Afghanistan/Poland) – € 40.000
The Staffroom by Sonja Tarokić (Croatia) – € 40.000

and 3 TFL Co-Production Awards (amounting to a total of € 150.000):

Port Authority by Danielle Lessovitz (USA/France) – € 50.000
The Fever by Maya Da-Rin (Brazil/France) – € 50.000
Yalda by Massoud Bakhshi (Iran/France) – € 50.000

The following prizes were also awarded:

Audience Award
Voted among the FrameWork projects by all the Decision Makers attending the TFL Meeting Event, the Audience Award of € 30.000 went to:
Yalda by Massoud Bakhshi (Iran/France)

4 TFL Audience Design Fund Awards (€ 40.000) – aimed at supporting innovative audience engagement strategies at the moment of distribution – were officially presented to as many winning projects:
Apprentice by Boo Junfeng (Singapore/France/Germany/Hong Kong SAR China/Qatar)
Felicity by Alain Gomis (France/Senegal/Belgium/Lebanon/Germany)
Jesús by Fernando Guzzoni (France/Chile/Germany/Colombia/Greece)
The Wound by John Trengove (South Africa/Germany/Netherlands/France)

LAGO Award
The newly introduced LAGO Award of € 5.000 for the further development of the project, assigned by our sponsor LAGO to one of the Script&Pitch or AdaptLab projects, went to:
Imperium by Jan-Ole Gerster (Germany)

EP2C Post-Production Award
The prize is assigned to a FrameWork project: it allows the producer to participate in the EP2C workshop on post-production and it offers a € 5.000 grant in post-production services at the Filmmore facilities either in Amsterdam or in Brussels. The prize went to:
Gal Greenspan from Green Productions (Israel), producer of Shake Your Cares Away by Tom Shoval

Digital Production Challenge II Award
The award, consisting in the participation in the DPC II Workshop, is granted by FOCAL resource and went to the Script&Pitch project:
Zama by Philippe Lacôte (France/Ivory Coast)

Created in 2008 thanks to the support of the MiBACT - Direzione Generale Cinema, the Regione Piemonte and the Città di Torino, TFL is promoted by Ministero dei Beni e delle Attività Culturali e del Turismo, Museo Nazionale del Cinema and Film Commission Torino Piemonte. TorinoFilmLab is supported by the Creative Europe - MEDIA programme of the European Union.

The TFL Meeting Event 2016 was also possible thanks to the technical partners Coop, Martini, Acqua Panna – San Pellegrino, EBT – Exclusive Brands Torino, and to the media partner Cineuropa.